Questions and updates

25 Feb

First of all, I’ve been doing a little housecleaning of the blog tonight, do you like the new background?

I loved the kitties but they had to go to work on my new years resolution of taking the blog more seriously. Now that we’re coming out on the other side of February and my brain is no longer composed of mush and snot, we can get that going. I found the background on a blog, The Graphics Fairy, an awesome place to find vintage images and backgrounds to use for just about anything you need.

And the buttons? Better? I kinda hated the other ones but was too lazy to do anything about it. (Taking the blog more seriously, right?) The twitter one should work, facebook is something I’m still thinking about. (see below) I’m going to do a rework on my etsy shop, and when I get the whole “what do I want to make and sell right now?” thing down, I’ll put a new button up for that too. 😉 I found the buttons here, just by googling blog buttons. Sweet, huh?

Another something I’ve been wondering about, since I don’t use my name on the blog, would it be a good idea to make a facebook page for just the blog? Do you use facebook for blogging? How’s that going for ya? 😉

I’ve been on this kick lately where I don’t want to go back to school but I really miss learning, you know? I’ve been putting aside some money here and there and I should be able to take that pottery class I mentioned in April, which I’m super excited about, but it’s not quite enough and I’m not sure what to do about it. Anyway, one step at a time.

I took some shots around the apartment the other day so I could show you the changes we’ve made so far making this place a home. I have SO many ideas, but time and money and deciding how to EXECUTE those ideas have put some things on the back burner, so to speak.

Here’s a little sneak peek:

DSC_0431

The before we moved in….

DSC_0376

The walls are now a soft gray and you can see the nook in the hallway with the fabric panel we found at IKEA (we have a slight obsession with bulldogs) hanging on the wall. In the last apartment, I had kind of wallpapered it to the wall with starch, but here we hung it with thumbtacks. Underneath is the IKEA bookshelf I bought last spring with it’s rainbow of books on the bottom. Eventually, the art supplies and cat stuff (we feed the cats here where Bogart can’t reach) will be housed in pretty bins or baskets, I can’t quite decide how I want it to look or how I want to organize it. Our original idea for this nook was to put an easel or small drafting table for creating. Maybe we still will, but neither of us has been terribly creative and the smell of cat food doesn’t help. 🙂

I have tons more to share, but it will have to wait for another post, but for now…

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

One Response to “Questions and updates”

  1. Jamie February 28, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I like this much better than the kitties. Looking good!

    Let me know where you take your pottery class. Maybe I can take it too. It sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

