The dining room table: After

6 Aug

As promised, the new dining room table. (click to see the first post and read the full story about the table)

DSC_0284-2

I’m in love, you guys. I was nervous about such a huge change on such a big important piece of furniture, important to my past and to my future. This is the table where I will serve my holiday dinners and all the every day ones in between. It was a giant pain in the ass, but totally worth it. I just love it.

DSC_0285-2

Love it.

DSC_0273-3

LOVE .IT.

DSC_0275-2

Bo loves it too.

DSC_0184

Before…

DSC_0284-2

After. 😉 LOVE.

 

The chairs are still a process, I still need to have the seats cut and make a final decision about the fabric. I know I want them to be comfortable to sit in and pretty to look at…here’s a preview of the one that is painted the new color.

DSC_0286-3

A few things I’ve learned:

  • I don’t have the room to work on such a big piece like this again.
  • It was a really bad time for the ceiling fan to stop working in the dining room.
  • Spray paint is going to have to be reserved for small things that  can be done quickly. I don’t have a good place to do it and buying even the cans from walmart still costs more than if I’d just bought a quart in the right color from menard’s. (I pink puffy heart love menard’s.)
  • I’m going to have to invest in some better brushes, even being very careful, you can still see brush strokes on the table top. Didn’t have the money to spend this time, but it’s good to know that they are necessary, and they don’t really bother me that much.
  • I need a canvas drop cloth, the plastic ones won’t cut it.
  • This is what I want to do. There. I said it. (More on that later, I promise.)

 

More on it’s way, and thanks for listening,

citygirl

One Response to “The dining room table: After”

  1. Heather August 7, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    The table looks awesome. The chairs look great too. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

