More restaurants for your noming pleasure

26 Jul

The last two weekends have been about food and movies. One of our new favorite things to do on a sunday afternoon is to take the train to Lincoln Square for lunch and a matinee.

First up the restaurants we tried…..

If you are a french fry addict like I am, you have to try The Daily on Lincoln. Best french fries EVAH!! I am for serious! Go! Run! And get the cheese sauce, it will change your life. I can’t even remember what we ordered, the french fries are that good. 😉

Last sunday we went again only to remember that The Daily doesn’t open ‘til noon and our movie was at 1pm so we had to pick something else. We picked the Bad Dog Tavern across the street (still on Lincoln), mostly because it has a giant bulldog on the sign. 😉 BFP had the pan seared oatmeal which he loved, it looked like a giant oatcake drizzled with honey and fruit, apples and currants, he said it was delicious.

I had a burger which was good but believe it or not, it was the fountain soda that put me over the moon. You see, I have given up soda…with a caveat. I’m allowed to have soda when out and about. I was drinking a ridiculous amount of mountain dew every week and it wasn’t helping with the good food/lack of activity/long winter trifecta that caused weight gain for me and BFP. This was my first step. I stopped buying soda from the grocery store, but I did pick up a few bottles of mexican cokes and fantas a few weeks ago. I figure it doesn’t count…I’m not sure why but real sugar, yum!! And I saved the glass bottles for crafting. (BFP is rolling his eyes right now.)

Now the movies…..

First up was Despicable Me, the new pixar flick. We both loved it and giggled through the whole thing. The minions, omg the minions, they are adorable! I want one! This one goes on my list of the best animated movies with Up.

Last week, we saw a matinee of Inception, which was completely packed. Nolan has a habit of losing me in the first 20 minutes or so, since he likes to jump right in with the story before I’ve even figured out who the characters are.  BFP didn’t have a problem with it, but I was trying to figure out if I was going to enjoy it for a while there. And honestly? I left the theater still unsure if I had enjoyed myself. What I was left with is a dizzy, disoriented feeling that took a few minutes to dissipate. So, what’s the verdict? I liked it and I’ll tell you why.

Most of the movie existed in various dream worlds, the action in these interconnected dream worlds was not only fantastical, in the back of my mind I KNEW that it was special effects, but it was so nicely done, I couldn’t tell how they did it. Does that make sense? We’ve gotten so used to special effects, we can tell how the movie is tricking us to believe in it….green screen, wires, etc are so common that though we can’t see them, we can “see” them. That wasn’t the case with Inception. They were so well done, I left the theater feeling like I woke up from a dream. Which is…disturbing and really really cool. The price of admission was well worth it for the fight scene with Joseph Gordon-Levitt alone. Dreamy and complicated and…ok, kinda hot. 😉 When did the kid from 3rd Rock from the Sun get hot?! If you like smart heist movies, you will like this. Don’t try too hard to make sense of the “science” of the movie and enjoy the ride. (Nolan takes himself a bit too seriously, I think.)

 

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

One Response to “More restaurants for your noming pleasure”

  1. The Maiden Metallurgist July 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    The food at Daily is great, and they are crazy dog friendly. We took one of our dogs there last weekend for lunch, nobody looked at us askew for having our dog with us and the busser brought out a water bowl.

Leave a Reply

