Museum seeks room mate

21 Jul

BFP and I had a huge fight saturday. Huge. What was it about? Money. Isn’t every fight you have as a couple essentially about money? I felt he was being an asshole, he felt I was being an asshole and nothing was accomplished other than I was so upset that I didn’t eat all day and I lost 2 pounds. (That would be nice, but it came back a few days later. sigh.) Oh, and the floors in the kitchen and dining room were so clean they sparkled and with 3 cats and a dog, clean floors are a rarity. (Don’t worry, they are already back to dirty. One of the cats puked all over the kitchen floor this morning, and HELL NO I did not clean that mess up, that’s what the dog is for. *shudder*)

I have been having trouble finding a job that I actually want and the sheer amount of scammers on job sites is enough to make you cry. Seriously. I sent an angry email to one particular asshole that sent me the same fake response form letter twice in one day. So, finding a job that I want has been difficult and in order to bring some money in, I’m going to take a job that I can get, one that I’m really good at and is easy to get. I have more retail/customer service experience than you can shake a stick at**, but I really want someone to hire me to manage them. You know, answer phones, file things, make sure all the information is up to date and everyone knows where they are supposed to be and when. I would ROCK at that, I love organizing people. LOVE IT. But, I can’t find anyone who will let me do that, so I’m down to finding what ever will pay me clothes/paint/craft/fun money so there you go. Boo. I’m trying not be an asshole, and I can see signs that my points hit home with BFP, too.

Also, I found an article on apartment therapy about the Museum of Science and Industry looking for a roommate. They want someone to essentially live in the museum 24/7 for a month, writing about the experience and helping around the museum. At the end of the month, you get $10,000 and a bunch of techy stuff. You don’t get much contact with the outside world, but your friends and family can visit and think about how COOL that would be!!! BFP and I talked about it and he’s cool with me trying for it. If, and this is a big if, I make it to the final 3, I will be counting on my bloggy/twitter/facebook friends to vote for me. I might need to make more friends. Hmmm. Any thoughts? I have to write an essay and make a video, any advice in that regard would be great. 😉

Lastly, I have a couple more restaurants to talk about and 2 movies that we’ve seen lately, I’ll get to those this week.

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

**Don’t you love that expression?

4 Responses to “Museum seeks room mate”

  1. Gregg July 21, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    I’d vote for you. In fact, if you win, I’d probably try to come see you in the museum…which would be so weird that I probably wouldn’t do it, anyway.

    I’d still vote for you, though.

  2. The Maiden Metallurgist July 21, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I so want to do it! I can’t leave my job for a month though…

  3. Emily July 28, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Ah, MSI is awesome! If you lived there for a month you’d never run out of things to do. You can go to the Storms exhibit and play with the hot air balloons. You could watch the chicks being born. You could wander through the creepy village street replica. The possibilities are endless!

    I’ll vote for you, for sure. So fun!

Leave a Reply

