Because it’s never too early to think about Halloween

29 Jun

I love Halloween. LOVE IT. I love dressing up. I love the kids running around in costumes. I love the costume parties with themed food and cheesy decorations. I love thinking up costumes.

Some of my fondest memories from childhood involved Halloween. My Mom made our costumes and most of them were way better than the cheap plastic crap that was (and still is) available at the store. I remember being a bag of jelly beans one year and a birthday present another. (that one was a little hard to get in and out of the car in) I did the same as an adult too. I turned a faux suede brown dress I found in a resale shop into Pocahontas (I had long, long hair that I often wore in a braid down my back, so it was already one of my nicknames) and the last couple of years I’ve worn a black fringed dress with fluffy hair and a feathered headband and been a flapper. (try explaining that one to a bar full of Bosnians, no one had any idea what I was talking about)

All of this back story is just to tell you that when boyfriendpants and I went to see “How to Train Your Dragon”, I knew what I was going to be for Halloween this year.

HowToTrainYourDragon-Astrid-AmericaFerrera-560x420

Hehe. LOVE IT!!

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

2 Responses to “Because it’s never too early to think about Halloween”

  1. The Maiden Metallurgist June 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I do the same thing, I keep a list in my google calendar on Halloween of potential costumes I think up throughout the year, then when Halloween rolls around, I just have to pick one.

  2. Laila June 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Too cute! I love that movie, waiting for it to come out on dvd.

Leave a Reply

