A tree to grow on

24 Jun

In our living room is a long blank wall and since we moved in, I’ve been trying to figure out how to fill it, on the cheap. Between the two of us, boyfriendpants and I had an obscene number of canvases in various sizes and shapes. One of the first things I did as far as decorating goes, was put them to good use.

DSC_0331

It’s hard for me to live in an apartment again that doesn’t allow painting. This place is ridiculously serious about it, so I’ve come up with various ways to add color without doing much damage to the walls. This is one of the ideas I came up with.

DSC_0007-2

I painted the four canvases the background blue color…..

DSC_0023

…..and free-hand drew the tree with chalk while they were hanging on the wall so I could get the illusion right. I colored in the tree and branches with wood glue to give it the bumpy texture of trees and painted the brown shades over that.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

(Close-ups of the effect the wood glue had, and chalk outlines where the leaves would be)

The wood glue idea was inspired by another magazine article I saw about an artist who used hollow core doors as canvases. (What a great idea, right? Big and cheap!)

hollowcore door canvas tutorial

I couldn’t find the page where she talks about using wood glue for dimension, but here is the page that describes how to turn a door into canvases. (click to enlarge) (DIY Spring 2010 issue)

Anyway, I wanted something with presence to dominate the wall and sort of embrace other art that will join it when I find some (or paint something else, haven’t been in a painting mood lately). Between the tree and the expedit shelving from IKEA, the wall doesn’t seem quite so empty any more.

I like it, and it adds a lot of color to the wall, and…well, it was fun to make. Nothing is more fun than a good project. 😉

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

P.S. I’m linking up with another site for this one, if you would like to see some other projects having to do with wall decor, click the badge. 😉

Visit thecsiproject.com

2 Responses to “A tree to grow on”

  1. gail June 24, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    wow! that is very creative! That’s sad that you can’t paint, but look how it forced you to be creative!
    gail
    ps lots of fleur-de-lis around Louisville too! it’s our city’s symbol.

  2. Karena June 28, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    Wow girl! Great job, I am as an artist inspired to check out th door into canvas technique. (If I am able to read it!) You wall looks fabulous!

    I hope you will join my designer Giveaway from Pillow Mint!

    Karena
    Art by Karena

Leave a Reply

