It’s curtains for you, bub

18 Jun

Prepare yourself, it’s another project! I made curtains for my kitchen window using plain tea towels. I saw a how-to in the winter 2009 issue of DIY magazine all about using vintage tea towels as cafe curtains and I was hooked on the idea.

tea towel curtains

(I started scanning into my computer all the pages I’ve ripped out of magazines to “save” or forget about forever, whatever. I figure it will be way easier to find inspiration if I have all the images in a folder on my computer, and hey, it makes it easier to blog about them too. lol)

I don’t have any vintage tea towels, but I did have a pack of plain ones I found at the evil empire I just had to figure out what to do with them…..

kitchen curtains

and this is what I did.

DSC_0043

One panel so you can see a little more detail….

DSC_0103-2

Each “flower” is 3 flower shapes cut out of felt and sewn randomly about the middleish of the tea towel. I sewed 3 beads to make the center of the flower using button thread.

DSC_0045

The stems are skinny green grosgrain ribbon hot glued onto the towel.

DSC_0044

I also hot glued black ribbon to the top and bottom to finish them off.

 

Now I have curtains for my kitchen that continue the black, white, yellow theme I’ve got going and I didn’t have to resort to lemon images. 😉 The photos should give you a pretty good idea on how to make some yourself if you are so inclined, but if you want more info or have a question, feel free to shoot me an email accidentalcitygirl@gmail.com!

 

Thanks for listening,

ctiygirl

2 Responses to “It’s curtains for you, bub”

  1. Nicole Marie June 22, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Scanning the magazine pages is such a good idea. I hoard all of my periodicals- this would be so much more organized!

  2. Lesley June 26, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I love it! What a great idea, and so easy since there is no sewing required.

Leave a Reply

