Bullets of things I’ve tried to write about this week and didn’t quite manage it

17 Jun

I have a couple of projects that I’m wrapping up and preparing to show you but I had a few short things to share so I’ll use bullet points. 😉

  • The job that Boyfriendpants took that brought us here to Chicago did not turn out to be the great opportunity that we expected. At least, the miserable working conditions don’t quite make up for the prestige of working for (insert university here). He came home from work on Monday just miserable and confessed that he was going to look for another job. He has already heard back from one other university in the area, but it will probably be a process. (Though, last time he started looking in October and we moved the 1st of January, so you never can tell I guess.) Keeping my fingers crossed that he’ll find something that makes him happy.
  • I started volunteering with PAWS Chicago and though I’ve only done one event so far, it was a lot of fun. Next time I’ll remember to post it ahead of time so you Chicago folks can go, though if you are trying NOT to adopt another pet to add to the menagerie, it’s probably a good thing you didn’t know about it. (I really want another kitten, so I made sure to volunteer for dog duty only.) (Yes, I know I already have 3, what’s your point?)

Photo06131347

Aren’t they the cutest? This is what I cuddled all day. Two 11 week old puppies that we tried to talk passerby into taking home. 😉 It was an awesome day, except for getting completely soaked in the rain right before it was time to leave and then going into Prada and trying to pretend like I belonged there. Let’s just say I avoided mirrors the entire time I was there. (BeaUTIFUL shoes! $700 isn’t going to happen, though.)

  • I finally started looking for a job. I know, I’m such a slacker. And at the PAWS event I got a lead on a temp agency that might not suck. Boyfriendpants and I both had bad experiences with temp agencies before, so I wasn’t going to apply through one, but the girl I talked to loved this particular agency, so I think I’ll give it a shot. Temping might be a good way to get my foot in the door since I don’t have any work experience here.
  • I keep meaning to compile a list of all the restaurants we have tried here, especially the ones we really LIKE so we don’t play the “where was that place that had the awesome fried chicken again?” game. That game sucks. For the record, it’s Charlie’s Ale House in Andersonville, on Clark. Seriously, fried chicken and mashed potatoes with milk gravy, better than my Grandma’s and she cooks Southern y’all. Really really good. And if you go, get the orange soda, you’ll thank me. (Just so you know, if you tell my Grandma, I’ll deny everything.)
  • I took Bogart to a dog park for the first time this week, he’s never had free play with other dogs before, but he did very well. He played nice with others and only really embarrassed me once when he jumped a guy sitting on a bench. He is very people oriented so I was expecting a little crazy jumping on people but then he realized what all the other dog were doing was more fun and suddenly the people became background. He made friends and started to get dog cues. It’s like an only child being plopped into kindergarten without ever really being around other children, their social skills are kind of lacking at first, which is the reason I took him. He needs some damn social skills. lol Chicago is a very dog friendly city, but Bogart is often a bull in a china shop, he hasn’t figured out when to dial it back when we are out and about and he needs to get better at it before I will feel comfortable taking him further away from home, to cafes and the beach. We are working on it, and he is getting there, but he has a bulldog temperament and that often means when he doesn’t get his way, he throws temper tantrums, which I don’t know how to describe other than to say, remember this? Yeah, he scares people, and that is really embarrassing. We are going to try again tomorrow, I think and I’ll bring the camera this time since I know he can handle it.
2 Responses to “Bullets of things I’ve tried to write about this week and didn’t quite manage it”

  1. Mocha June 17, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    Oh, that’s just great. Now I have to go to that chicken place. Charlie’s Ale House, huh? Never heard of it so that’ll be a new adventure for me. And I promise to get the orange soda. Thanks for the tips. But please write more food places. I like to eat.

  2. Kirsty June 19, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Great blog! Good on you for volunteering the dogs are adorable!

Leave a Reply

