Giving out your number to strangers

1 Jun

We have a little problem and his name is Edwardo (not sure if that’s really his name at the moment, but I know it’s close).

We take regular long walks with the dog beast to sort of wear out the rotten in him. (The cat chasing side of his personality) Most of the time, we go together, but on Saturday mornings, when I’m still asleep because I don’t believe in getting up at 6am unless I have to, Boyfriendpants and Bogart go on a 45min to an hour long walk without me around the neighborhood before breakfast. They regularly talk to fellow dog owners about their dogs, the neighborhood, or what have you. (Boyfriendpants talks, Bogart drools or jumps…usually both)

Last weekend, Boyfriendpants and Bogart ran into Edwardo and his dog on the street and struck up a conversation as their dogs did the “sniff the butt dance” that dogs do. They walked a bit and it began to occur to Boyfriendpants that he was being flirted with. Being a guy, he’s not familiar with the whole putting off unwanted advances politely shtick and managed to be sucked into giving up his phone number so that Edwardo could text him the number of his trainer.

He came home and told me about the conversation:

me: Did you mention me?

him: Yes! And it didn’t work!

me: You do know that you are never to give out your phone number to someone flirting with you unless you actually want them to call you, right?

him: I don’t know, this has never happened to me before, I panicked!

me: Ha! Welcome to being a girl!

Cute geeks with nice shoes are apparently very attractive here. lol I told him to chalk it up to a learning experience and that the guy would probably call once or twice then give up. I was so wrong.

To date, he has called 6 times and sent twice as many text massages, to a man he met on the street, who told him he had a girlfriend and has not responded. The text messages are strange….not explicit or suggestive but…familiar, like messages you would send to someone you’ve been on a couple of dates with, he calls and leaves messages that he just called to talk. Maybe I’m overreacting, but it’s getting a little creepy. Guy or girl, gay or straight, that’s a bit much, don’t you think?

Have you ever phone stalked someone and got a date? Has anyone ever pursued you in this way and it worked?

And in the meantime, what do you think we should do about Edwardo?

Thanks for listening,

citygirl

Updated: It seems that Edwardo has moved on, the day before I posted this is the last day we heard from him. I’m glad for him just as much as us.

p.s. In the meantime, enjoy some dog face time. 😉

DSC_0856

3 Responses to “Giving out your number to strangers”

  1. Nathan June 2, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    I think the best option is to convince Edwardo that he doesn’t want you (let’s pretend we are talking about you, because I feel weird typing “boyfriend pants”). I suggest acting somewhat mentally unstable. Like you have an anger management problem or something. All you have to do is inappropriately yell at innocent unsuspecting people in Edwardo’s presence. Be careful though, some people are into that kind of thing. You don’t want to accidentally fulfill Edwardo’s fetish. Things will only go from bad to worse. Or so I’ve heard. I guess what I’m saying is, find out what Edwardo likes, which is probably pretty much what you are (I mean bfp, ewe… even the initials feel weird). Anyways be the opposite of what Edwardo wants in a slightly crazy way. But not so crazy you get arrested or anything. Or you could just keep ignoring him. Or…. you could answer his phone and pretend to be all dangerous jealous crazy. We know he’s not into you. This time I mean the real you, not pants. God this is confusing. I’m going home. Later.

  2. Bri June 2, 2010 at 4:16 am #

    That would be hysterical, and I thought about answering his phone when Edwardo called but if he is some crazy stalker I don’t want to engage him, all those hours of dateline taught me that.

    Ignoring seems to finally be working, he didn’t call or text today.

    Also, I almost spit mountain dew all over my computer laughing at your comment. 😉

  3. Shawn July 10, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    The same thing just happened to me. The fellow needed help purchasing a bus ticket from a kiosk cuz he was drunk and I helped him, and walked away. Wudnt you know, he’s behind me waiting for the same bus, and thanks me again for helping. He starts talking and continues it and Offers me a seat next to him, I didn’t want to be rude so I take the seat, and listen to him talk for the whole ride, which started off awkward but he had some intersting stories about drugs and his multi millionaire friend. but that’s where I got sucked in….I started talking a bit too and before you know it he asks for my name and number, and guess what? I give it to him, why? B/c Im honest and didn’t want to lie, the thought crossed my mind as he asked it but I quietly just gave him it to him and regretted it right away! maybe if I hadn’t been so tired I wud been sharper….But I did manage to tell him I have a girl friend though, but he still insisted he text me the day after. But surely he sensed I wasnt gay and just being nice as evident by the awkwardness from my side during our conversation, especially when he told me he was a male stripper and when he told me about his gay boyfriends! I tried to steer away from those conservations by not responding and jumping to a previous topic but didn’t work ( btweverybody on the bus is prolly listening to him) that didn’t work cuz shortly before I left he said he wud text me and he called me “baby” as I left…and yea everybody on the bus heard, luckily it was night and the bus lights were off but I did make eye contact with the lady sitting across from me, and yeah she was smiling, I was not, my face was going red and I got off that bus and speed walked as fast as I cud……mann that was an ordeal…next time I’ll read the paper on the bus!

Leave a Reply

