Making new friends, and getting out of the house

13 May

I went to my first Chicago social event this past weekend. In fact, I went somewhere without boyfriendpants. I kissed him goodbye and went off with a woman that I only knew through email, Kate, to a woman’s house that I’d never met and only briefly talked to through email. Until Kate showed up at my door and we began talking, I had planned on walking through the door and knowing only one person at the party.

It was the Chicago stop on Bossy’s (No) Book Tour and the only person I knew was Bossy, and by knew, I mean met her on two previous occasions. Enough to recognize someone, but not enough to call another person your friend, per say. I feel, though, after several glasses of wine, a discussion of my OCD habits, and the difficulties of being the evil stepmom to an apartment full of spoiled pets, I do count her as a friend and it was lovely to see her again and to have the opportunity to meet Kate, who I hope to hang out with again. All in all, I’m glad I didn’t chicken out and I’m glad that my first party in Chicago was this one.

DSC_0004

Georgia (Bossy) and Kate at the corner of countertop the three of us staked out as our own.

DSC_0005

My attempt at artistic photography after a couple glasses of wine, where I=too tipsy for calculating the proper settings on my camera.

DSC_0007

I don’t remember the room looking this orange, but Bossy looks lovely and once again, wine.

DSC_0014

The register in the floor kept making our skirts fly up, here we are trying to remember the pose that Marilyn Monroe made in that one movie. You remember, the one where she wears the white dress that flies up when she walks over something on the street and she pretends to be embarrassed. That one. (Do I need to mention the wine again?)

Though I’m sure I talked too much, and I had a killer wine headache the next day, I’m glad that Bossy came to Chicago again this year. Maybe we can get together when I make it to her neck of the woods. (Never been to Philadelphia, but it’s on my list.) 😉

thanks for listening,

citygirl

3 Responses to “Making new friends, and getting out of the house”

  1. BOSSY May 13, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Love you.

  2. Rhoda @ Southern Hospitality May 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Thank you for stopping by & signing up for the giveaway. Nice to meet you & I hope you’ll come back again.

  3. Nicole Marie May 21, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Good for you! I totally understand how hard it can be to put yourself out there like that. I’m still trying to get better at it myself!

    On that note- shoot me an email if you’d like! Maybe we could get some coffee and take this city by storm. Or at least go on a puppy play date!

Leave a Reply

