The Closet Problem

9 Apr

When I lived all alone with only a cat as a room-mate, using 2+ closets to house all my clothes really wasn’t a problem. Living with a man who actually likes clothes and shoes too has made the sheer amount of stuff we own just crazy. Granted, I still have 3 times as much clothing and shoes as he does but, our shared closet is busting out everywhere….

His Side My side

and I still have all my dresses hanging in the office closet. And don’t even get me started about the shoes. I just don’t know, but I would pretty much KILL for a non-expensive all in one place solution for all of them and all the future pairs I plan to buy when I am working once again.

the office closet back of the office door

And then, the weather started to change, and all the summer/spring items stuffed into the storage above the closet needed to come out. And I realized that I was going to need to pare down. Again. Well…and I’ve been feeling a pretty strong hate for most of the stuff I do have. So. I sorted all the summer clothes into three piles.

Donate: Anything that doesn’t fit, I don’t really like, or won’t fit into the vision of what I want my wardrobe to be. (Yes, I said it. My VISION. More on that later.)

Keep, or at least try on: Anything that goes with the aforementioned vision, a few items that are really just beach/vacation wear and some things that I’m not sure about but was too lazy to try on in my initial trying on frenzy (the dog kept following me around, he has issues, and it got a little exhausting)(the summer things that I kept are now in the office closet with the winter dresses)

And Alter or cut apart for the fabric: There are quite a few things that either didn’t fit anymore, never fit very well in the first place, or had a stain that I was keeping around because I love the fabric, or the lining, or the print, so I decided to recycle.

Some will be used for crafts, some will be made into slips or skirts which is the only clothing I can sew reliably and one in particular was a purple knit top with this crochet neckline that I only kept for the neckline, not because it actually looked good on me. I removed the crocheted part and am currently sewing on seed beads to make it into a bib necklace.  Woo! Go crafty me!

You’re dying to know about the vision, aren’t you? I know, because this post is titillating!!

Here it is: Boyfriendpants and I were walking back from the lake with Bogart (post on that another time. Dog! And waves! Which he’s never seen! Tried to pull boyfriendpants into the surf! Hilarity ensues!) when we passed this woman wearing a dress. Just a dress but for me it was THE DRESS. I turned 33 (33!) last friday and that dress was like an epiphany for me. It was a cream dress with fluttery short sleeves and polka dots in brown. It was everything I want to be right now, ladylike without being staid or fussy, long enough to be comfortable to move around in and flattering to boot. It was ADULT. And lovely and beautiful and totally inspiring.

think something like this:

40's dress patterns

I now want the majority of my wardrobe to bring to mind a 40’s feel with a little early fifties thrown in for jeans. It’s the perfect era for my body type and I just feel a new city demands a new look and not the oh-so-trendy look prevalent in Lincoln Park that seems to be made entirely of the color black and skinny jeans. Besides, it’s an excellent excuse to make the plethora of vintage and resale stores work for me. 😉

The ultimate goal, of course, is to have all my clothes in one place, or at least as much as possible. Because the plan for next year is a loft downtown, which means I will have to rig up or buy closets most likely. Though, if there’s room for it, a wall o closet like I had at the last place would be kinda sweet. 😉 A giant walk-in would, of course be the ideal. Not holding my breath.

So, here is the part where I beg for comments for any of you reading that live in Chicago or LIVED in Chicago, where do I go for 40’s inspired (or real 40’s)style on a budget? (remember the whole lack of job thing)

thanks for listening,

citygirl

3 Responses to “The Closet Problem”

  1. Nathan April 10, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I’m sure you have figured this out already, but the Wickerpark/Bucktown area is pretty cool.

  2. Nathan April 10, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    This comment is just because I wanted to check the “notify me of follow up comments” box, but instead, I hit the “notify me of new post” box. Totally different things.

  3. The Maiden Metallurgist April 11, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    I just came across your blog via Pioneer Woman’s photo stream and I wanted to say hello. I’m (relatively) new to Chicago too, and I really like your pictures!

Leave a Reply

